The Cuyahoga Valley section of the Ohio & Erie Trail

image

I try to visit as many different bike trails as I can while driving around the country. I especially like the Rail-Trail system, which tend to be flat, since they are built on land formally used by trains. Part of my regular daily commute takes me over a large bridge on the Ohio Turnpike over the Cuyahoga River. If you look north down river, you can see part of the Cleveland skyline about 20 miles away. If you look below, you can see a trail alongside the river. That is the Cuyahoga section of the Ohio & Erie Towpath Trail. While I don’t think it is technically a rail-trail, it is paved, and fairly flat and easy to ride. In the winter, the trail is used for cross-country skiing. Earlier this Autumn I parked the truck at the Pilot Travel Center in Richfield, Ohio, about five mile to the west, and rode to the trail. The roads to the trail are safe to bike, and very scenic, but very hilly.

I only had time to explore a small portion of the trail, but I’d like to someday ride its entire legnth beginning in Cleveland.

image

image

imageThe view from under the Ohio Turnpike

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

