The Abandoned Pennsylvania Turnpike Tunnels

image

Welcome new readers! I hope you enjoy this article. Please leave a note in the comment section letting me know how you found me.
Just outside of Breezewood, Pennsylvania is a section of abandoned highway that used to be part of the turnpike before part of the highway got re-routed in 1968. If you’ve seen the movie “The Road”, the post-apocolyptic movie based on the Cormac McCarthy novel, you’ve seen the above tunnel. The abandoned highway is easily accessable from either truck stop in Breezewood (Click here for a map). If you plan on riding or hiking through the mile-long abandoned tunnel, it’s a good idea to bring a good flashlight, but not absolutely necessary. I find it adds to the excitement to just focus on the light at the end and head on into the darkness! On my last trip there, while very slowly peddling through the tunnel, an interesting thing happened as I tried to safely maneuver in the dark. I started to get the sensation that I was moving extremely fast, and even begin to imagine the walls moving quickly past, even though it was almost completely dark and couldn’t see the walls at all. When I put my feet down on the ground however, I’d find that I was barely moving at all!

Yeah, the more I think about it, you should probably bring a flashlight.
image

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Abandoned Pennsylvania Turnpike Tunnels

  1. Pingback: 2013: Live Lived Well, and Days Spent Fully | 18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

Leave a Reply

