Nashville, Tennessee

image

Most of my favorite travel memories were not the result of trips planned in advance, but simply by making the best of seredipitous moments that fall into my lap. Nashville was most certainly not on my list of cities I wanted to visit. I’m not a fan of most country music, and in spite of it’s beautiful skyline, I couldn’t see any reason to take the time to take a closer look when I had a dedicated route from Spring Hill, Tennessee to Auburn Hills, Michigan a few years ago. I’m glad I finally did stop. Downtown Nashville has a lot to offer, but it’s also compact enough that you can see a lot and have fun and also stick to a tight schedule.

The Tennessee State Capitol is just a few blocks from the truck stop next to LP Field. On the day I visited, Congress wasn’t in session but I was allowed to give myself a self-guided tour.
image
In 1866, when a group of legislators opposed to the state’s ratification of the 14th Amendment tried to leave the voting floor to deny the majority the quorum necessary for voting, guards opened fire in order keep them in the building. Nobody was shot, but a vote was taken and Tennessee became the first former Confederate state to ratify the amendment guaranteeing citizenship for former slaves. The marble handrail shown here still shows the damage from the gunfire.

image

Like I said, I’m not a country music fan, but watching music live is quite another thing. You can’t walk more than two blocks downtown without finding a concert at night. I fully encourage just picking one at random and taking a listen. It’ll certainly be more entertaining than the TV lounge at the truck stop!

image

image

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

