Quick lunch break tourism: The C+O Trail near Big Pool, Maryland

image

The C+O Trail near Big Pool, Maryland

Maryland had a sunny break from the winter weather we’ve been having, and since the temperature got way up in the 40’s yesterday, I decided to take a quick break and visit a portion of the C+O Trail near Big Pool, Maryland. The trail is easily accessable from exit 12 on I-70, and truck parking is available at the ATC Exxon.
The route I took (click here for a map) took me in a loop traveling portions of the Western Maryland Rail Trail, the C+O Canal Trail, and Fort Frederick State Park (pictures from my last trip to this historic fort can be found here). This trip is approximately 6.5 miles, and took me an hour, biking at a leisurely pace with plenty of stops for picture taking, and one minor accident. On a related note, perhaps it’s not a good idea to try to take pictures while standing up riding your bike. Your chain could slip, and you could be sent over your handlebars. As long as there are no broken bones, it’s all part of a fun adventure!
I’m beginning another round trip to Baltimore today, and if the weather holds up, I hope to take the trail further east, to 4 Locks. I’ll try to take more pictures, after safely dismounting from the bike this time!

image

Fort Frederick State Park

image

image

The entire C+O Trail

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

