Baltimore’s Ft. McHenry and Inner Harbor

Baltimore’s Fort McHenry is the site of the famous War of 1812 battle that inspired Francis Scott Key to write “The Star Spangled Banner”. I’ve wanted to take a side trip to the historic site for a while, but the nearest truck stop is on the far side of the harbor, and I wasn’t sure I could fit such a long bike ride all the way around and back into my work day. Fortunately I discovered the Baltimore Water Taxi Company, which provides convenient boat rides to various points around the harbor. Not all of the boats allow bikes, but the commuter ferry connecting the Canton Waterfront Park at stop #16 with Locust Point at stop #10 does have room for bikes, and is a fun way to shorten the ride from the T/A truck stop to the fort. Click here for a map of the route I took. Using this route, the truck stop is less than two miles to the water taxi, then once you’re on the other side, it’s just about 1½ miles to the fort.

image

imageThe water taxi at Canton Waterfront Park

image

image

imageLocust Point

imageMany of the abandoned factories, warehouses and even grain silos have been renovated into very nice condos, shopping areas and restaurants.

image

imageA bike trail circling the fort provides great views of the harbor, boat traffic, the downtown skyline and the Francis Scott Key Bridge.

imageFort cannon

imageA park ranger offers a lesson on the history of the Star Spangled Banner

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baltimore’s Ft. McHenry and Inner Harbor

  1. Todd says:

    Nice pics! You planning on telling the story behind it? I’d like to hear where this is, how you found it, and what’s up with all the people and the flag.

    • kevinmckague says:

      Thanks Todd. I’ll probably get around to posting the story behind these pics tonight. I’m still getting used to this WordPress app and my new phone, and I accidentally posted the pics when I meant to save them in draft. I probably need bifocals too!

Leave a Reply

