Back on the boat! Exploring Baltimore by bike and via water taxi.

Thursday was a great day. After getting finished up at a shipper in Baltimore, I knew the weather was just too nice to immediately head back to Michigan. I had so much fun biking around Baltimore and riding the water taxi last month that I decided to explore the city further.

From the T/A truck stop it was a quick ride to the Baltimore Water Taxi Commuter boat dock at the Canton Waterfront Park. From there I took the commuter boats to Locus Point, and then to Fells Point. These two routes are the only water taxi routes that allow you to bring your bike along, and they are both free. (Info on other Baltimore Water Taxi routes and fares are available at their website.)
As you can see from this map, this route gives you a nice trip around the harbor, and a view from either side. (Click here to load the map into your browser or Google Maps app) This whole trip only took about 2½ hours, and that included time waiting for the boats, and hanging out in Fells Point. This left me plenty of time to get back to Michigan within the lime allotted by DOT hours of service regulations.

image

imageThis is the view from the Locus Point Dock, and I have no idea how that guy’s foot got in the shot!

imageA pirate ship passes a docked freighter, “The Last Tycoon”

imageThere were plenty of pleasure craft out on the water even though it was a Thursday afternoon.

imageThis Frederick Douglass statue was near the Fells Point dock.

imageFells Point dock

imageBaltimore’s Fells Point neighborhood has plenty of shops and restaurants.

imageFells Point’s luxury apartments are nice, though I don’t think I’d want to literally be on the water, like these.

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

