Lake Arthur and Moraine State Park near Portersville, Pennsylvania

Google Maps is doing a great job of finding new bike trails for me lately, and it seems like they are labeling more each week. On the Android app, finding a new place to stop for a quick lunch time bike ride is as simple as clicking on the “bicycling” layer. I find it works best if you turn off the satellite photo layer.
imageGoogle Maps labels bike trails in green.

Yesterday the rain stopped long enough for me to visit one of my newly discovered trails around Lake Arthur in Pennsylvania’s Moraine State Park. I parked the truck down the street at the Pilot Travel Center in Portersville, (exit 99 on I-79) and biked the short trip to the lake.
(Click here for a map)

imageLake Arthur

imagebird condos

imageThe trail was pretty muddy after the rain. I could have stayed on the paved roads to get to the lake, but what fun would that be?

image

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

