Riding the GAP: The Great Allegheny Passage in Connellsville, Pennsylvania

image

Please don’t tell my dispatcher, but yesterday I went a little bit off of the regular route in order to ride another small section of the Great Allegheny Passage (GAP Trail) in Connellsville, Pennsylvania. I had visited another section of the 150 mile-long Pittsburgh-to-Cumberland biking and hiking trail last December near Smithton, but I’m making it my mission to ride as many different sections as possible. At least I’ll visit as much as can possibly be squeezed into my work days, anyways. I really like this trail, so at some point I’m going to have to cash in some vacation days, get a better bike, and take several days to ride as much of it as I can.

Actually, Connellsville isn’t very far from the Pennsylvania Turnpike, so my dispatcher shouldn’t fret too much. The trouble with visiting was in finding a place to park the truck. I settled with the town’s Wal-Mart, which allows a couple of trucks to park in the corner of the north-east corner of the lot.

As you can see from the pictures, the trail and Connellsville are very nice and worth visiting, but be forwarned, the streets in town are very hilly, which can be fun, but exhausting, expecially if you still have to finish driving 600 miles before the day is over. I also recommend you trust whatever map app you have to chart your trip from the store to the trail, expecially if it has a bike route function. Some of the local roads that appear to meet or pass near the trail actually pass under a trail bridge, or are fenced off, and are completely inaccessible to the trail. Click here to see the route I took, and to get an idea of where to access the trail.

image

imageConnellsville has done a nice job of accomodating the trail as it passes through town, devoting a section of road to bikes and separating it from traffic with a flower-covered median.

imageYoughiogheny River

imageAntique Bike on display next to the Bikes Unlimited store on Crawford St.

image

image

image

image

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Riding the GAP: The Great Allegheny Passage in Connellsville, Pennsylvania

  1. Pingback: 2013: Live Lived Well, and Days Spent Fully | 18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

Leave a Reply

