More Pure Michigan: Biking, golfing, boating and even disc-golfing at Willow Metropark near New Boston

image

Summer is almost over my friends, so we better squeeze out as much fun as possible while we can! Luckily, I keep finding more fun places to visit. Yesterday’s find was almost accidental, a serendipitous surprise. I happened to pass by a small, unremarkable truck stop off of exit 11 on I-275 near New Boston, Michigan, and found Willow Metropark hidden at the end of what at first looked like nothing more than a dead-end road on the other side of the freeway.

Once again, I have Google Maps to thank for this find.
imageThe green paths are bike trails.

I knew about the 275 trail that follows the freeway from Novi to Monroe County, but this section has been neglected for years, and I would recommend skipping it. Nearby Willow Metropark however is home to not only some very nice trails but a golf course, a swimming pool, and even one of the areas only disc-golf course. They even rent boats and bicycles! Unfortunately, since Labor Day has already passed, so have many of these fun opportunities, but don’t worry; it’ll still be there next spring and I’ll remind you to visit.

The trails at Willow Metropark connect to a network of trails that extend about 30 miles or more, but I still had to get to Baltimore by midnight, I will have to explore most of that another time. Click here to see most of my route from the truck stop to the park and back.

image

image

image

image

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

