Cycling and Leaf Peeping in Northern Michigan

image

On Friday I took on an extra load heading in a different direction from my regular dedicated route. I drove up to the cities of Gaylord and Fairview, Michigan, which any Michigander will tell you are right around the knuckle of your middle finger.

michimap(Michigan hand map borrowed from Great Lakes Echo)

While waiting at the dock to get loaded in Gaylord, I quickly cycled up to Otsego Lake to enjoy the perfect Michigan autumn weather.

image

image

image

For my next Michigan cycling adventure, I am working on a route that will take me into Canada and back. Riding across the border can be tricky; those pesky bridge and tunnel authority employees won’t allow you to ride alongside car and truck traffic. Luckily there are two car ferries that cross the St. Clair River from Michigan to Ontario, Canada, and both allow bike traffic.

This it the trip I have tentatively planned for later this month:

map to and fro canada by bike
This looks fun, does it not? I’ll keep you posted.

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cycling and Leaf Peeping in Northern Michigan

  1. Todd McCann says:

    Canada, eh? Don’t forget to smuggle some poutine back across.

    • kevinmckague says:

      I went last Sunday. I didn’t pick up any putine but I did bring some Canadian candy bars back for the kids though.

      The temperature was in the 40’s but once the sun came out it was a beautiful day. I posted some pictures on my Instagram page. There’s a quick link in the right-hand column of this page.

      Here is a video I shot from one of the ferry boats I used to carry me and my bike to and from Canada.

Leave a Reply

