Presidential History and More Autumn Leaf Peeping in Niles, Ohio

Metroparks RailTrail Autumn

I had been spending so much time riding on trails and cities throughout Pennsylvania and Maryland that I hadn’t been back to the Metroparks Trail near Youngstown, Ohio for months. That was a mistake, because it turns out that I missed a few interesting spots since the the last time I wrote about this area.

Starting at the Pilot Travel Center near Austintown, Ohio I hopped onto the Metroparks bike trail that runs right along the back of the parking lot, and headed north. After a couple of miles the trail becomes the Niles Greenway, and ends in the city of Niles, Ohio, the birthplace of William McKinley, our nation’s 25th president. I stumbled upon the presidential library and birthplace museum completely by chance; my discovery was simply another unplanned surprise resulting in travelling a little farther up the trail than I had previously ventured. Niles is like many nice mid-sized Ohio towns founded during the 19th century. Its roads are fairly bike friendly and its downtown area is well preserved.

By the way, I passed a J.B. Hunt terminal on this ride. I used to work for them, but I didn’t keep a bike on the truck with me then. I don’t remember ever having to stop at the Niles terminal, but seeing it reminded me of all of the times while driving 48 states that I would have to spend my 34-hour breaks at terminals like that. In larger cities, I would walk or rely on public transportation to get around. In Oklahoma City, for example, I walked a mile to the nearest bus stop when I was stuck at a J.B. terminal for repairs. I then took a bus downtown, where I visited the Murrah Building memorial, and other OKC landmarks, restaurants and stores. That was several years ago, before they got a basketball team, so I would imagine there is even more to do there now.

That trip to Oklahoma City would have been even better if I had my bike back then.
But I digress.
Here is a map of the route I took from the Pilot to downtown Niles (click here).

20131023_163446

20131023_170647

The William McKinley Library

The William McKinley Library

20131023_170319

William McKinley statue

William McKinley statue

The Niles Greenway

The Niles Greenway

20131023_164417

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Presidential History and More Autumn Leaf Peeping in Niles, Ohio

  1. Todd McCann says:

    Sheez Louis, Kevin! You can’t just go adding a giant picture of your face at the end. I was scrolling along and suddenly I nearly jumped out of my skin. Scary. 😉 You sure do look happy in that picture though. I haven’t been that content since Hostess went out of business.

    Keep up the great work! Happy trails.

  2. Pingback: Mill Creek Metroparks Bike Trail and Meander Creek Reservoir near Austintown, Ohio | 18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

  3. Pingback: 2013: Live Lived Well, and Days Spent Fully | 18 Wheels and a 12-Speed Bike

Leave a Reply

