Early January Photo Album

It takes more than cold weather to keep me off of my bike, especially when I’m away from home. I was able to squeeze in a couple of quick trips this week, and I wanted to share a couple pictures I took along the way.

This first one is of the Meander Creek Reservoir near Austintown, Ohio. I was racing to get in as many miles as possible before the sun went down, and caught this scene just before sunset.
image

Click here for a map of the route I took on the Mills Creek Metroparks Bikeway starting from the Austintown, Ohio Pilot Travel Center.

The following pictures were taken early Tuesday morning near Big Pool, Maryland. Click here for a map of that route, starting and ending at the truck stop at exit 12 on I-70.

image

imageFort Frederick

imageWestern Maryland Rail Trail Tunnel

imageC+O Trail, Big Pool, Maryland

Other posts on riding in the Youngstown, Ohio area:
Presidential History and More Autumn Leaf Peeping in Niles, Ohio
Mill Creek Metroparks Bike Trail and Meander Creek Reservoir near Austintown, Ohio
More on riding at Fort Frederick and Big Pool, Maryland:
Quick lunch break tourism: The C+O Trail near Big Pool, Maryland
Fort Frederick State Park in Big Pool, Maryland

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Early January Photo Album

  1. Todd McCann says:

    You got some fantastic shots on this trip, Kevin. That first one just before dark is a gem.

Leave a Reply

