Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

I get a great feeling riding for the first time in a city I had previously only known as a series of lines on Google Maps.  I try plan my routes as best I can, attempting to keep to roads safe for bicyclists, but you never really can tell what you’re getting into before you get there.  I’m never disappointed, and my trip today to Harrisburg, Pennsylvania was no exception.  

I parked the truck at the Rutter’s off of I-83 and followed a 13.5 mile route (click here) around town, over the Susquehanna River, and by the State Capitol.  I wish I had more time, Harrisburg looks like a really nice city, with a lot of parks, interesting restaurants, and the Minor League Baseball team Harrisburg Senators. 

ImageHarrisburg City Island Park

 

ImagePennsylvania’s State Capitol

ImageSusquehanna River

Image

Image

ImageYou get a good view of the Susquehanna River through the grated bridge.ImageNot all bike-friendly routes are labeled on Google Maps. Pennsylvania has an official statewide bike route system.

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

