Port Huron, Michigan, and the Wadhams-Avoca Rail-Trail

I’m adding Port Huron, Michigan to the list of cities I wouldn’t mind moving to. At the very least, I would like to rent a cabin along the St. Clair River and spend my time riding my bike and trying to drive golf balls from the shore into passing freighters. That last part might be illegal. It’s probably frowned upon. Ok, I’ll stick to the cycling part.
Located along the eastern edge of Michigan’s “thumb” where the St. Clair River meets Lake Huron, Port Huron has many miles of bike paths, trails, sandy beaches, historical sites, and cool places to eat. I recommend The Raven, at 932 Militarty Street, where you’ll find good food, good coffee, and live entertainment. The staff is very friendly, and it is quite a beautiful establishment. Check out that link and you’ll see what I mean.
Just to the west of Port Huron you’ll find the Wadhams to Avoca Rail-Trail. It’s a scenic 12-mile path made of smooth crushed gravel on the north-west portion and paved on the south-east portion as you approach Port Huron. My favorite part of the trail is the converted railroad trestle bridge, approximately one mile from the Avoca end, raising cyclists hundreds of feet above a small river below. I’m planning on returning in the Fall when the leaves turn, if not sooner.
Truck parking with easy access to both Port Huron and the Wadhams-Avoca Rail Trail is available nearby at the Pilot Travel Center off of exit 196 on I-69.
History buffs should note that Port Huron is the boyhood home of Thomas Edison, and should check out the Thomas Edison Depot Museum.

There is a nice beach at Lighthouse Park, which is just north of the bridge.

There is a nice beach at Lighthouse Park, which is just north of the bridge.

My middle kiddo on our ride yesterday

My middle kiddo on our ride yesterday

Freighter traffic on the St. Clair River

Freighter traffic on the St. Clair River

This is part of my bike touring group under the Blue Water Bridge. That's Sarnia, Ontario, Canada on the other side of the St. Clair River.

This is part of my bike touring group under the Blue Water Bridge. That’s Sarnia, Ontario, Canada on the other side of the St. Clair River.

May 012

Members of one of my cycling groups on a converted train trestle bridge along the Wadhams-Avoca Rail-Trail

Members of one of my cycling groups on a converted train trestle bridge along the Wadhams-Avoca Rail-Trail

The Thomas Edison Parkway and Blue Water Bridge, Port Huron, Michigan

The Thomas Edison Parkway and Blue Water Bridge, Port Huron, Michigan

The view from the drawbridge downtown.

The view from the drawbridge downtown.

This is me, forever resisting the stereotype that cyclists should wear spandex shorts.  (Photo by Greg Ezzo

This is me, forever resisting the stereotype that cyclists should wear spandex shorts. (Photo by Greg Ezzo)

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

