Early Summer Photo Album

Time flies when you’re having fun! I’m having trouble believing that it’s almost August already. I’ve been as busy as ever with work, and with my never-ending mission to squeeze whatever time I can from my schedule to ride my bike. Whether I am out on the road at work looking for new trails or back in Michigan riding with my friends and family, I am always looking for new opportunities for adventure, and I’m almost never disappointed when I take a chance in riding someplace new and unfamiliar. Here are some of my favorite photos from the past couple of weeks.
20140719-153124-55884670.jpg

I just happened to be riding around Baltimore’s Inner Harbor when I stumbled upon this crowd watching what ended up being the U.S. team’s final game in the World Cup. I’m not a big soccer fan but it felt great to be part of a big, happy cheering group of people.

20140719-153119-55879595.jpg

During the first week of July my company-owned truck broke down twice, giving me plenty of free time to ride around Hagerstown and Williamsport, Maryland. This picture of the Potomac River was taken from a bridge between Maryland and West Virginia. Around the time I took this one of my dispatchers called and said “wow Kevin, you’re having a bad week, aren’t you?” He must’ve imagined I was sitting in the repair shop waiting room waiting for my truck to be done. I didn’t tell him I was actually having a better week than usual!

20140719-153110-55870860.jpg

Fort McHenry, Baltimore

20140719-153126-55886792.jpg

If you have a light on your bike and/or a reflective vest, downtown Baltimore can be a safe place to ride at night. Last Wednesday I stopped at a late night pizza joint in Fells Point and stumbled upon a late night outdoor showing of “Fast and Furious 6”. The movie was ridiculous but I had a blast hanging outdoors on a beautiful night with a group of people watching a movie right next to the water. It was approximately 1,000 times more fun than the truck stop driver’s lounge, trust me. Click here for a listing of several different outdoor movie venues throughout Baltimore this Summer.

20140719-153113-55873766.jpg

I took this photo last Thursday at Sandusky Bay in Ohio during a beautiful ride through flat, scenic farm land. I parked the truck at the Ohio Turnpike plaza near Vickery and rode out the back service drive. Click here for my route.
20140719-153121-55881582.jpg

This was taken on the C+O Trail near Williamsport, Maryland on my blissful broken truck week. I got layover pay, which isn’t as much money as I would get for working, but basically amounted to me getting paid to ride my bike while my truck was in for repairs. You gotta take those lemons and squeeze some lemonade, my friends. Click here for my route.

20140719-153118-55878145.jpg

I rode over some monstrous hills on a ride behind the New Springfield, Ohio Turnpike travel plaza. I was burning up some bike brakes going down this hill. Click here for the route.
20140719-160834-58114650.jpg

This is the pier at Grand Haven, Michigan, a beautiful town along the Lake Michigan coast. There aren’t any truck stops in town but the Meijers grocery there allows truck parking. The beach there alone makes it worth a stop if you’re in the area.
20140719-160838-58118962.jpg

These last two were taken on a trip with sone friends of mine and my middle child to Kensington Park in Milford, Michigan. We actually started and ended the trip in South Lyon, and made a 30 mile loop through the park, around Kent Lake and back. Michigan has more rail-trails than any other state, and some of the best if them are in the metro Detroit area. If you ever find yourself with some downtime while passing through, you’re probably within biking distance from a beautiful trail. Like I always say, I guarantee it’ll be more fun than the truck stop lounge. This is never more true than in Michigan, where the truck stops tend to be even worse than average, and where the trails are often among the nation’s best.
20140719-160836-58116686.jpg

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

