Bicycle Vacation Photo Album

IMG_1819.JPG
As much as I like my job and the freedom it gives me to explore different areas if the country by bike, I was due for a vacation. I cashed in some paid vacation time and spent nine blissful days away from the diesel fumes and lined up some bike rides.
My first stop on my itinerary was the Slow Roll bike ride in Detroit. Held every Monday night from early Spring until around Halloween, Slow Roll is one of the largest weekly group bike rides in the nation. You might have seen Slow Roll Detroit’s founder Jason Hall in an Apple ad. I’m usually out of town on Mondays, so this was my first chance to join the fun in several months. IMG_1683.JPG

On Saturday, I participated in the 13th annual Tour de Troit bike ride. This 30-mile ride took approximately 7,000 cyclists on a tour of the city’s many neighborhoods, including the historic Indian Village area, downtown and scenic Belle Isle, which is located in the Detroit River along the Canadian border.

IMG_1783.PNG
IMG_1726.JPG

IMG_1765.JPGThis is Greg Ezzo. He has some very nice photos of the Tour de Troit at his website. IMG_1763.JPG

IMG_1743.JPG

IMG_1745.JPG

Meanwhile over in Livonia, Michigan, cyclists had been asking the state for permission to ride along a closed section of I-96, which was in the final stages of a major reconstruction project. Our wish came true when it was announced that a small portion of the freeway would be open to pedestrians, cyclists, pets, families and marching bands before it opened to actual traffic. I took the opportunity to create a group bike ride combining the freeway event with Michigan’s Autumn tradition of apple cider and donuts. Starting at Parmenter’s Cider Mill in Northville, we carbed up on fresh homemade donuts then rode approximately 21-mile round trip along the beautiful and hilly Hines Drive and I-275 Trails. In between torrential downpours, the sun and blue skies came out just in time for the I-96 ride. All in all, it was a fun, delicious, muddy mess for everyone involved.
IMG_1794.JPG

IMG_1789.JPGIMG_1782.JPG

IMG_1793.JPG

IMG_1803.JPG

IMG_1799.JPG
It was a perfect vacation, and one that left me truly refreshed.

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

