See Lake Michigan on your 30 minute break

image

On a recent round trip between Flint and Chicago Heights, Illinois, I stopped at the T/A Travel Center in Sawyer, Michigan and rode to Warren Dunes State Park along the shores of beautiful Lake Michigan. The trip is short enough to complete in 30 minutes, which is good because that’s all the time I could spare without being late. This is a beautiful beach and I definitely recommend visiting, especially if you have more than a half hour to spend.
Click here for the route I took. When looking at the map note that my return trip was far more direct than my trip to the beach. It turns out that some short cuts aren’t that short after all!
Remember drivers, just because the DOT says you have to take a 30 minute break it doesn’t mean you have to spend it moping in a truck stop! Go exploring!

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

