30 years later, I finally got to ride my bike across the Ambassador Bridge!

image

Last year I told you about how back in high school a friend of mine and I tried to ride our bikes from our homes in Novi, Michigan to Canada via the Ambassador Bridge. The bridge officials politely turned us away so we ended up riding to Tiger Stadium where some nice fans offered us free tickets to a game. It was 1984, and the Tigers went on to win the World Series. It was a great year.
30 years later, the Tigers didn’t make it to the World Series but I finally got to ride my bike across the Ambassador Bridge! Once a year the good folks at Tour de Troit set up a ride for approximately 500 cyclists to make the rare international trek. This year it was Windsor, Ontario’s turn to host. After crossing into Detroit and returning we were given a 20-mile tour around the city. Windsor is a great bicycling city, with plenty of scenic trails with a great view of the Detroit River. After the official ride and a delicious lunch provided by Windsor Eats, a friend of mine continued on our own tour of the city. I will definitely be back.
Click here for some great coverage of the event from The Windsor Star.
International truckers, there is a truck stop in Windsor not far from the bike trails (Click here for a map), but I have not been there so I can not vouch for its quality. It certainly can’t be worse than the Detroiter truck stop in Woodhaven, Michigan! Take a chance and ride your bike around this beautiful city.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

