Sunday morning Detroit bike ride photo album

image

image

image

I took these photos in Detroit yesterday morning. I had never seen the Detroit Free Press Marathon before so I got down there early to ride my bike around.  I believe it is the only international marathon, routing the runners over the Ambassador Bridge to Canada then back through the Detroit-Windsor Tunnel.  The tunnel is nerve-racking enough by car, I can’t imagine running through it.  When I took the third photo the main pack of runners were beginning the Canadian portion of the route, and you could hear the thousands of supporters cheering from across the river.

image

image

The runners return to the U.S. via the tunnel

If you’d like to see more of my photos my Instagram user name is Kevin_McKague.
Find my MapMyRide profile for route ideas.

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

