Exploring downtown St. Louis and visiting the Gateway Arch by bicycle

image

There are so many beautiful and fun places to explore by bicycle in Missouri, and it is becoming easier to do so while you’re on duty as a truck driver. Regular readers know how I love to visit the 237 mile-long Katy Trail as it passes through historic St. Charles, but two new truck stops near downtown St. Louis now make it possible to park and visit the Gateway Arch and other downtown attractions by bicycle.

I began my trip from the Love’s Travel Stop off of I-70 at the Broadway exit. There is also a Phillip’s 66 stop with truck parking about a mile south of Love’s. Click here for a map of my route. From Love’s, it is about a 6.5 mile ride to the Gateway Arch downtown.

image

imageThis was taken from the Eads Bridge, which has a bike and pedestrian lane which can get you over to Illinois.

imageThis is the Jefferson National Expansion Memorial Museum, as viewed from the west with the Gateway Arch behind it.

imageBusch Stadium, the home of the St. Louis Cardinals. Yeah, I suppose you could come here during the summer and cheer for the Tigers or Cubs when they come to town.

imageThis mural depicting people escaping along the Underground Railroad is at the Mary Meachum Freedom Crossing and Rest Area along the Riverfront Trail, just north of the Merchants Bridge.

20141213_105833Much of the Riverfront Trail passes through industrial areas just north of the Arch. If you’re a nerd like I am you might enjoy watching cranes lift coal out of train cars, and watch the coal be carried on conveyor belts above the trail and down to the river where it is loaded onto ships on the Mississippi River.

As usually is the case when I’m in the middle of a workday, I had to cut my trip short so I couldn’t visit as many places I’d like. I didn’t have time, or a bike lock, to make a trip to the top of the Gateway Arch possible. I’ve done that before though, and I recommend it. The views are spectacular. On my next trip I hope to make time for the City Museum, which I’m told is a lot of fun.
Did I miss anything? What other places would you recommend visiting in downtown St. Louis during a bicycling trip?

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

