Just Live, Dammit.

image

For you non-truckers out there, an HOS violation is an hours of service violation. We only have 14 hours from the time we start working to get to where we need to be at the end of the day.

Have you ever had the feeling while visiting a place that you love that you might not ever be back again?  I had that feeling today. I felt the urgent need to carpe me some diem. Rather than grabbing lunch at the truck stop I did what I normally do and I rode that angst out.
In the time it took some other drivers to watch an episode of Law and Order in the TV lounge (Seriously, what is it with you guys and Law and Order reruns?) I did the following:
– I got on my bike and set course for some place I had never been to before.
– I immediately changed course and turned right when I approached a red light and didn’t feel like slowing down.
– I repeated the last step over and over again until I was in an area with which I was completely unfamiliar.
– I met a homeless woman named Pam and gave her my sandwich and some water. I talked to her about whatever she wanted to talk about, which was her leg injury. Being homeless in 90 degree weather is no picnic.
–  I went to the courthouse to see if there were any protests going on today, but there were not. Those were yesterday apparently.
– I quickly conquered many very steep hills.
– I raced in traffic.
– I almost got run over by a careless driver making a right hand turn into the space I was still occupying. Now that’s exciting!
– I watched the boats on the harbor.
– I nearly fell off my bike startled when the USS Constellation fired its cannons for the tourists.
– I took a lot of pictures and posted them to Instagram.

I’m sure that rerun of Law and Order was fun too though.

Listen to that voice in your gut pushing you into action. This might actually be your last day here.

image

Here’s my route if you’re interested.
Give it a try, but I’m not kidding about those hills! Stay closer to the harbor for a flat ride.
image

About kevinmckague

I left my former dead-end job in 2006 in order to become a truck driver. I wanted a career that was recession-proof, and that offered more opportunity for adventure. Now I travel the country with my bike in the passenger seat, and look for new places to visit whenever the opportunity presents itself.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Live, Dammit.

  1. James says:

    Great advice and a fun column. Jim

Leave a Reply

